And that’s (maybe) a good thing.

I haven’t said anything publicly about what is going on in my country and my world. Instead, I quietly do my praying and meditating and sending out happy thoughts. Today, I want to send out a few words.

I think we are going through extraordinary times. My hope is we can survive the shock of the shake-up. We are a troubled country. Our different political and ethical views are showing like a black bra under a white tank top.

We’re a split country at exactly the time we need to connect. Unbelievably it seems we are moving backwards in regards to issues like racism and hate. Our disagreements are spiraling out of control. We argue like children and fight it out on Facebook or Twitter. This immaturity has to stop. I don’t care what you believe–well, I do, but I’m not here to fight that battle today. Today, I’m pleading with you to be kind to one another. Isn’t that what we’re suppose to do?

I’m here because I believe, overall, we are good people. I really do. Because we have different beliefs doesn’t mean we can’t live together. We have to connect and compromise. What are we teaching our children? We talk about the younger generation being disconnected from life, well why not? We aren’t presenting much of a life to look forward to. We aren’t setting a good example of loving one another.

My take on what is happening in America is that many people are ruled by fear. Be it fear of change or fear of the future or fear of one another, it doesn’t matter. We’ve got to stop fearing and start listening to one another. The future of our country and our world is at stake.

I had a fairly textbook middle-class childhood. I learned right from wrong and I wasn’t taught to hate, and let’s face it, hate is definitely a learned behavior. I had normal fears, like snakes and spiders but I never had to fear the environment around me. Over the years, I’ve realized not all people had the same fortunate upbringing. Because of this fact, before I condemn anyone’s actions or beliefs, I remember that I haven’t walked in their shoes. Instead of getting angry, I need to stop, take a deep breath and try to find compassion for a person I could easily hate because of their beliefs. The truth is, I don’t know their beliefs. I only know they differ greatly from what I believe. This is hard to do but we have to start understanding that we are interconnected and every little thing we do effects the world.

We have to make sure love wins in this extraordinary time, and the only way love wins is if we stop battling and start changing the world, one kind act at a time. As Andrew Garfield said, ‘Hate doesn’t end hate. Love ends hate.’ When someone disagrees with you, listen to them. Give your views if you feel compelled to share but remember, if they still don’t agree with you, you gave them something to think about, and the way you treat them often has more power than your words. These are actions that help change the world in a positive way.

It’s time to stop thinking only of ourselves. It’s time to think of our descendants. I don’t want future generations to live in a world we didn’t safeguard for them. I don’t want them to feel we weren’t good stewards of the earth and our country. It’s time for us to take responsibility for doing what is right and it starts with civilized conversation with an agenda of moving forward in a nondestructive way.

That’s it. I just had to say this because the world’s a confusing place right now. If it is the end of the world as we know it, let’s make it a better world. We’re in the middle of something life changing and, I believe, good will win and love will be the weapon that protects our people-one and all.

IMG_0893

