Yes, of course, I’m talking about me. I’m still trying to find my voice here. I have a lofty goal of promoting compassion, kindness and connections. Trust me, I’m not completely qualified but I feel strongly about using this forum for positive. Recently I’ve noticed negative ideas need no help.

The baffling part is, I’m not exactly sure how to present these loving ideals with a healthy dose of ‘funny’ and I want to present positivity with a bit of humor ( the ‘haha’ humor, not the plant/animal fluid humor).

Can I do that?

I’ve looked at humorous blogs and some, okay, many of the blogs weren’t completely kind. That’s okay. It’s just not what I want to do. Maybe I’ll look at compassionate blogs and search for humor. That might be a little easier, right?

The only person I intend to attack in this blog is me. I can handle a little self-deprecating humor. I’m thick-skinned–when I’m dishing it out.

category-reptiles-lizard-reptile-picture_218069.jpg
Put a little (currently red) wig on it and it looks just like me

I like to believe my spiritual leaders have or had a sense of humor.

Maybe Jesus started the Parable of the Good Shepherd with a joke.

              What do you call a sheep with no legs?

               A Cloud.

Maybe not. Okay, not a chance.

It’s just that I relate better to people who are funny.

In my brief research for this post, I found that many compassionate-minded people do appreciate humor. There’s plenty of evidence.

maya%20angelou%20quote_2x1.jpg
Just a few of her wise words

And then there’s this crazy pair.

According to author Douglas Abrams, the Dali Lama and Archbishop Tutu “seemed to be as much a comedy duo as two venerable spiritual leaders
dalai_lama_desmond_tutu.jpg

My ramblings and research here have led me to the conclusion that I was wrong. Humor goes hand in hand with compassion, kindness and connections. It’s not hard to find.  Although I’m not delusional, I know my writing will never have the impact of those noted above, I feel good about my goal. I can find my voice and achieve my goal.

When it comes to humor and compassion, I’m in good company.

I hope your day is full of love and laughter.

